Things are really starting to fall into place!

I couldn’t resist any longer and set up Silvia Trkman’s Lesson 5 sequence this morning. The video includes every repetition and a lot of mistakes, plus some late verbal cues (one was so late, I think Lil had already taking the jump when I said WRAP… big OOPS on my part) but I was SO happy with Lil’s energy and speed that I just kept going.

An extension jump after a tunnel is a difficult jumping scenario for Lil so the fact that she jumped #7 so beautifully once and pretty well some other times made my day!

I don’t think you can see how YAHOO Lil was in the video, which I think caused some early knocked bars, but she seemed to figure things out without losing her YAHOO-ness or speed. I feel like everything is starting to fall into place and that Lil’s confidence and jumping skills have improved enough that she can now jump while running super fast!!! I am not sure the angle of the camera accurately conveys her ground speed but she was really running! :)

About Dev

I am insanely passionate about two things in life: Art and Dogs. I am a full-time visual artist which affords me the opportunity to take my 2 Australian Terriers, Jake and Lil, to work with me. A typical day involves taking many short training/ play breaks from making art, which clears my head and gives me a energy boost. Over the years, it has become apparent that the process I use to create art is the same process I use when training my dogs. Both evoke creative, out-of-the-box thinking, heightened awareness and observational abilities, patience, determination, focusing on the process vs. an end goal, the willingness to fail, the desire to succeed, never accepting defeat, and the development of specialized mechanical skills.
This entry was posted in Agility, Jumping, Tunnels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things are really starting to fall into place!

  1. Dianne Wall says:

    She is such a great athlete! I love that magic, motivating ball!

  2. Dev says:

    Thanks Dianne! And yes, that is Lil’s magic ball for sure!!!!

  3. What a wonderful little girl you have. I wish my westie had that kind of drive. :) Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

